老年讚歌

 

那天有一個年青人問我年老了有什麼感覺。我當時大為吃驚,因為從來沒有認為我已經老了。見到了我的異常反應,他馬上覺得很尷尬,但我向他解釋說這是一個蠻有趣的問題,我要想一想才能告訴他。

 

我認為是上天的恩賜。剛剛才發現今天的我可能是一生中一直希望做到的人。不,不是說我的身體。有時候我對自己的外表感到失望。臉上的皺紋,腫脹的眼肚,以及鬆弛的腿股肉。我常被在我鏡子裡出現的那個老人嚇一跳,但從不會把它放在心上。

 

我絕不會為了少長一點白頭髮,或扁一點的肚皮來換取我那些難得的老朋友,充實的生活和充滿愛心的家庭。我越老就對自己越好,對自己也不再有嚴格的要求。我變成了自己的好朋友。不會為多吃了一塊谷奇,或者沒有整理好床舖,或者買了一隻沒有用但是放在門口看起來很神氣的水泥蜥蜴而責備自己。我有權亂放東西,隨便浪費,隨時聞一聞花香。我見到太多的好朋友還沒有領略到年老帶來的無限自由,便過早地離開了這個世界。

 

就算我每天在電腦上看書和玩遊戲到凌晨四點,然後到X點才睡覺,誰管得著?

 

我會和自己在五、六十年代(對有些人來說或是七、八十年代的)的曼妙的樂韻中翩翩起舞,同時如果為了一段已經逝去的愛情,想哭就痛快地哭吧。

 

我會穿著緊繃在大肚子上的游泳褲在沙灘上漫步,想的話,也可以不顧一切地衝進浪濤裡暢泳,儘管感到從穿著比堅尼游泳衣的美女那裡飄過來的憐憫眼光。終有一天,她們也會變老的(如果運氣好的話)。

 

我知道我善忘,但是人生有些事情忘掉了也罷,反正只要最終記住那些重要的事情就行了。

 

當然幾十年中,我也曾有過傷心的時刻。如果你失去了個熱愛的人,或者看到了一個嬰孩受苦,或者心愛的寵物被車撞到了,能不傷心嗎?不過破碎的心能賜給我們力量,體諒和同情。沒有碎過的心是懵懂無知的,永不會了解帶著缺陷的喜悅。

 

我為活了這些日子才得到的白髮,以及那永不磨滅地刻錄在我臉上深深紋理中的青春笑聲而感到幸福。很多人從沒有笑過,很多人在頭髮沒有變白之前便已撒手人寰。現在我可以隨心所欲,想說什麼便說什麼。

 

當你變老了,就會看透世事,容易向好的一面想。從此不再關注別人怎麼想,也不再質疑自己,就算錯了也沒有什麼大不了。

 

現在回答你的問題:對,我喜歡變得老了。老年釋放了我,我喜歡改變了的我。我不會長生不死,但只要一天在世,決不會浪費時間嗟嘆以前應該是怎樣的,或者擔心以後會怎樣。我會每一天都品嚐美味的甜品…(如果我想吃的話)

 

今天,我祝你有個充滿平凡奇蹟的一天。

愛得簡單。

愛得寬宏。

關懷得深刻。

講得慈愛。

 

活得好 - 笑得多- 愛得深

 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 

(原文,作者不詳)

 

Being Older

 

The other day a young person asked me how I felt about being old. I was taken aback, for I do not think of myself as old. Upon seeing my reaction, he was immediately embarrassed, but I explained that it was an interesting question, and I would ponder it, and let him know.

Growing Older, I decided, is a gift. I am now, probably for the first time in my life, the person I have always wanted to be. Oh, not my body! I sometime despair over my body … the wrinkles, the baggy eyes, and the cellulite. And often I am taken aback by that old person that lives in my mirror, but I don’t agonize over those things for long.

I would never trade my amazing friends, my wonderful life, my loving family for less gray hair or a flatter belly. As I’ve aged, I’ve become more kind to myself, and less critical of myself. I’ve become my own friend. I don’t chide myself for eating that extra cookie, or for not making my bed, or for buying that silly cement gecko that I didn’t need, but looks so avant garde on my patio. I am entitled to be messy, to be extravagant, to smell the flowers. I have seen too many dear friends leave this world too soon; before they understood the great freedom that comes with aging.

Whose business is it if I choose to read or play on the computer until 4 a.m. and then sleep until — ?

I will dance with myself to those wonderful tunes of the 50’s & 60’s, (and for some of us the 70’s & 80’s) and if I, at the same time, wish to weep over a lost love, I will.

I will walk the beach in a swim suit that is stretched over a bulging body, and will dive into the waves with abandon if I choose to, despite the pitying glances from the bikini set. They, too, will get old (if they’re lucky).

 

I know I am sometimes forgetful. But then again, some of life is just as well forgotten and I eventually remember the important things.

Sure, over the years my heart has been broken. How can your heart not break when you lose a loved one, or when a child suffers, or even when a beloved pet gets hit by a car? But broken hearts are what give us strength and understanding and compassion. A heart never broken is pristine and sterile and will never know the joy of being imperfect.

I am so blessed to have lived long enough to have my hair turn gray, and to have my youthful laughs be forever etched into deep grooves on my face. So many have never laughed, and so many have died before their hair could turn silver. I can say "no," and mean it. I can say "yes" and mean it.

As you get older, it is easier to be positive. You care less about what other people think. I don’t question myself anymore. I’ve even earned the right to be wrong.

So , to answer your question, I like being older. It has set me free. I like the person I have become. I am not going to live forever, but while I am still here, I will not waste time lamenting what could have been, or worrying about what will be. And I shall eat dessert every single day…(if I want).

Today, I wish you a day of ordinary miracles.
Love simply.
Love generously.
Care deeply.
Speak kindly.

LIVE WELL – LAUGH OFTEN – LOVE MUCH

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

迴響

  • 路人  On 14/12/2007 at 9:28 下午

    老是一種褔氣, 有多少人想老也不能.

  • 瑞克  On 14/12/2007 at 9:39 下午

    聽君一席話,勝讀十年書……… 有意思的文章,有得著

  • fan  On 14/12/2007 at 11:05 下午

    家有一老,如有一寳.

  • 金魚  On 14/12/2007 at 11:06 下午

    yes…終有一天,她們也會變老的…..
    hope everyone can live a better life ^_^

  • deby  On 15/12/2007 at 8:22 上午

    我還沒有想象過自已老的時候生活是怎麼樣的。

  • Frank  On 15/12/2007 at 8:53 上午

    路人老弟~快樂的老年是福氣,瞢塞既老年是勞氣。
     
    艾瑞克~祝福你有一天會懂得享受老年的樂趣
     
    芬妹~老人如果通情達理就係寶,如果頑固執著就係包袱。
     
    Vivi~It\’s nice to have a better life, but it\’s nicer to lead a happy life.
     
    Deby~我到現在也沒有想過老了會怎麼樣,人家看我老了,可我的心卻從沒有老過。

  • 瑞克  On 15/12/2007 at 11:14 下午

    多謝林兄祝福

  •  On 21/12/2007 at 12:58 下午

    good呀……呢篇文章寫得不錯………我都想又個燦爛的老年……..^^………

發表迴響

